It’s weird when….

I’ve graduated from college. Twice. And I see my parents taking risks, and I don’t quite know how to react to it.

I figure its a lot like when parents first let their kids out onto the field to play sports for the first time. Baseball, football, soccer, basketball, etc. People get hurt all the time playing, regardless of their age or experience level. I cannot begin to imagine the worry a parent must have when their child is put in a position, willingly, that could endanger them.

Well, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t feeling that way right now. My parents have put themselves out there, at the risk of being hurt. Not physically necessarily, but emotionally and mentally.

I always thought I would be the one to campaign for political office. Ever since I was young, I have been intrigued by politics. I love talking about it with just about anyone (especially Megan Pacella). I find it hard to understand people that don’t seem to care about politics. I guess it’s because I assume everyone should care about how our government is operated, and by whom. In reality, that’s often the exception to the rule.

However, since I am not the one running for office, I am able to take a step back and be concerned for my parents. If I were running, I’d continually tell myself that things would work out one way or another.Whether its a lie or not is irrelevant. It’s harder to do that when you aren’t the one stepping onto the edge of the cliff.

If the past few days are any indication of what the next ten months have the potential to become, I am in for a load of work. I kind of like the thought of putting everything I have into something that could potentially change the course of history (for the better in my mind of course).

cheers

One response to “It’s weird when….”

  1. Megan says :

    I, too, enjoy talking politics with you. It's hard to see your parents get hurt: It's like admitting to yourself that they can't do it all; they're human. I think you're doing the right thing by working hard and letting life unfold for them.

Leave a Reply

