Music is the heartbeat of life…

Every now and then an artist comes along that literally brings me to a halt. 

I adore music with every fiber in me. I personally believe that God created music for people like me. Music is the heartbeat of my life. I cannot remember a day in the past 10 years or more of my life where music did not make an appearance. On trips to the Rockies, Appalachians, The Canyonlands in Utah, Italy, Austria, Germany, and many more there have been two constants; a bible and music. 
I have vivid memories that involve music as an association to an event.  I can literally recall a moment in time when I hear the song “Sparks” by Coldplay reminding me of a drive down into Florence, Italy and wondering if it was meant to be that this beautiful song had been destined to play driving into a city of beauty unsurpassed elsewhere in the world. The song “Different Names for the Same Place” by Death Cab for Cutie reminds me of the book ‘The Fountainhead” by Ayn Rand, a book I read while listening to the album. To say I am passionate about music is a gross understatement. 
Over the past few weeks, Iron & Wine has absolutely dominated my music playlist over the past month. When I listen to ‘Our Endless Numbered Days’ it literally brings me to a standstill.  I couldn’t begin to explain what it is, but something about the music and the lyrics and the emotion, the whispering lyrics and soothing acoustic guitar just takes me to a place of peace. 
Music is the heartbeat of my life. It sounds ridiculous that something so simple could have such a huge impact… maybe that is why I like it so much. Simplicity and beauty. 
One response to “Music is the heartbeat of life…”

  1. Heather says :

    It absolutely does not sound ridiculous. I also struggle sometimes trying to put into words what music has meant to me…just how a few notes of some song can cause actual feelings, memories and emotions to come flooding back like it was yesterday is amazing. Even how hearing something I love can change my mood for the whole day. It can bring me to tears, put a smile on my face, and take me into ultra pensive mode. It is probably very fitting that I met my husband at an Incubus concert! I have often said that I classify time periods of my life by what I was listening to at the time…oh, when I dated so-n-so, that was my Red Hot Chili Peppers Blood Sugar Sex Magic days…or when I hear anything from Sumlime’s 40 oz to Freedom, I can only think of the summer after I graduated high school..you get the gist…It is one of the reasons I got cable turned off…More time for music! I always enjoy reading what you have to say because I almost always connect with it. I hope you have a blast at Dave this weekend!

Leave a Reply

